Green light from 27 to use EU recovery funds

By in , , , ,
No comments

Yesterday, the EU Council announced it has received formal notifications about the approval of the own resources decision from all 27 member states. National ratifications being completed, the EU can now start making available funds under the Recovery and Resilience Facility. With a financial envelope of €672.5 billion, the facility is the central part of Next Generation EU, the EU instrument for economic recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic.


Formal notifications from 27 

After adopting the own resources decision on 14 December 2020, the EU Council completed the list of received formal notifications on 31 May 2021. For the decision to enter into force, member states had to approve it in line with their constitutional requirements.

Today is a big day for the European Union. All 27 member states have notified the ratification of the own resources decision to the Council. Consequently, this decision enters into force tomorrow, June 1st. The Next Generation EU starts tomorrow! The European Union is now able to obtain the necessary funding for the European social and economic recovery. The governments and national parliaments of the EU 27 have shown a strong sense of solidarity and responsibility. We cannot afford to waste more time. We must ensure the swift approval of the first recovery and resilience plans by the end of June.

António Costa – Prime Minister of Portugal


The national recovery plans – Next steps

The completion of the ratification process allows the EU to start borrowing funds on the capital markets already in June 2021. Pre-financing of 13% of the total amount allocated to each member state will be made available to national governments after the approval of their recovery and resilience plans.

Once the national governments submit their plans, it is for the European Commission to assess them within two months. The Council has then four weeks to approve each plan by means of an implementing decision. The rest of the funds will be disbursed taking into account the achievement of the milestones and targets set in the national recovery and resilience plans.

To date, 24 EU countries have presented their plans. Still waiting for Latvia, Malta and the Netherlands.

The link below will guide you to the Member States’ websites. For some Member States further information is not yet available, for others the links contain the draft or final plans or useful information shared with the stakeholders.

flag Austria Austria


flag Belgium  Belgium FR NL
flag Bulgaria Bulgaria
flag Croatia Croatia
flag Cyprus Cyprus
flag Czechia Czechia
flag Denmark Denmark
flag Estonia  Estonia
flag Finland Finland
flag France France
flag Germany Germany
flag Greece Greece
flag Hungary Hungary
flag Ireland Ireland
flag Italy Italy
flag Latvia  Latvia
Lithuania Lithuania
flag Luxembourg Luxembourg
flag Malta  Malta
flag Netherlands  Netherlands
flag Poland Poland
flag Portugal Portugal
flag Romania Romania
flag Slovakia Slovakia
flag Slovenia Slovenia
flag Spain Spain
flag Sweden Sweden


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.